2018 John Laing Professional Development Awards

Announcement re John Laing Awards for 2019

16.5.19 PAI Board meeting Communique


The annual John Laing Awards for Professional Development acknowledge principals in every state and territory who demonstrate outstanding leadership in providing professional learning in schools. They celebrate the contribution of school leaders who have undertaken professional development, and supported the professional learning of teachers and other school leaders.

The Awards were set up in 2004 in honour of John Laing, a former Tasmanian school principal worked for PAI (then the Australian Principals Association Professional Development Council) in 1993. He was the driving force behind the first cross-sectoral professional learning projects for all principals in Australia, and was a pioneer in recognising excellence in educational learning for school leaders.

SA Minister for Education, John Gardner with Julie Hayes and Angela Falkenberg. 2018 John Laing Awards


2018 South Australian recipients: Julie Hayes, Kylie Eggers and Deb Dalwood.


Congratulations to all the recipients of the 2018 John Laing Awards 




State/ Territory

Bernadette Howard Professional Learning Leader TPA Tas
Catherine (Kate) MacDonald Innisfail State College QSPA QLD
Chris Wyatt Trinity Grammar School IPSHPA – NSW NSW
Deborah Dalwood St Andrew’s School IPSHA-SA SA
Dianne Carter Warrigal Road State School QASSP QLD
Elizabeth Verstappen Sadadeen Primary School NT Principals Association NT
Esther Wood Burwood Heights Primary School VPA Vic
Gerald James Crooks St James College, Brisbane CaSPAQ QLD
Jillian English Strathmore Secondary College VASSP Vic
Jon Abbott Scotch College IPSHA – VIC Branch Vic
Josephine Blackley Christ the King VACPSP Vic
Joy Matar St. Brigid’s Catholic College CPAT Tas
Julie Hayes Cowandilla Primary School & Children’s Centre SAPPA SA
Katrina Bonetti Professional Learning Consultant WAPPA WA
Kerry Hudson Anula Primary School NT Principals Association NT
Kylie Donovan Hoxton Park PS  NSWPPA NSW
Kylie Eggers Mannum Community College SAASLA SA
Lorraine Evans Malak School NT Principals Association NT
Lyla Forte Sacred Heart School CPPA WA
Lyndsay Paul MacIntyre High School NSWSPC NSW
Mark Murphy Marcellin College PAVCSS Vic
Michael Morgan Shenton College WA Secondary Executives Association WA
Miriam McDonald Taminmin College NT Principals Association NT
Murray Bruce Gordon Primary School Dept. of Education ACT
Peter Watkins St Charles Primary School, Ryde, Sydney SCS NSW
Sandra Lea Hawken St John’s Anglican College IPSHA – QLD Branch QLD
Stephen Pares Newman Senior Technical College ACSP – NSW branch NSW
Thomas Quinlivan Kingsway Christian College IPSHA-WA WA
Warren Loy Our Lady of Mt Carmel Catholic Primary School, Mt Pritchard ACSP – NSW branch NSW
Wayne Bull La Salle College CSPA WA


All enquires to ea@appa.asn.au